India is a land of festivals and celebrations.

And sometimes these festivals give you an extra bonanza when it sums up with a weekend.

Ooohhh yes.. you guessed it right!

I am talking about Indian Public Holidays for 2019.

I know many of you have not yet started planning your weekend trips for next year.

As you might not have received your 2019 Holiday calendar from your office.

Am I correct?

Even if that is the case, honestly it is always a good idea to pre-plan things even when others have not thought off.

So let’s start with a list of the extended or Long Weekends in 2019.

Mark these on your calendars now and start planning your next weekend gateway now.

(And yes always keep in mind, you will get some good discounts as well if you book now for any place.)

So let’s not waste time and check out the public holidays:

However, if you like this article you can even follow me on Facebook or Instagram as well and have questions then mail me.

Long Weekends in January 2019

12th January (Saturday)
13th January (Sunday)
14th January (Monday): Take leave
15th January (Tuesday): Leave for Makar Sankranti / Pongal

Considerations:

Long Weekends in February & March 2019

28th February (Thursday): Leave for Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti (Optional)
1st March (Friday): Take leave
2nd March (Saturday)
3rd March (Sunday)
4th March (Monday): Leave for Maha Shivratri

Considerations:

  • Gulmarg for skiing
  • Udaipur & Jodhpur for their rich heritage
  • Lakshwadeep, Goa or Gokarna for its pristine beaches
  • Kodaikanal for hiking & trekking

21st March (Thursday): Leave for Holi
22nd March (Friday): Take leave
23rd March (Saturday)
24th March (Sunday)

Considerations:

  • Vrindavan and Mathura for Holi celebration
  • Ranthambore National Park for Tiger spotting
  • Hampi to explore the beautiful ruins & landscapes
  • Hola Mohalla in Anandpur Sahib Punjab

Long Weekends in April 2019

14th April (Sunday)
15th April (Monday): Take leave or Vishu / Basava Jayanthi
16th April (Tuesday): Take leave
17th April (Wednesday): Mahavir Jayanti
18th April (Thursday): Take Leave
19th April (Friday): Good Friday
20th April (Saturday)
21st April (Sunday)

Considerations:

  • Bali or Sri Lanka for a detox
  • Nepal or Bhutan for its beauty
  • Kashmir to experience Autumn
  • Sikkim for a beautiful ride
  • Or a trek in Himachal

Long or Extended Weekends in August and September 2019

10th August (Saturday)
11th August (Sunday)
12th August (Monday): Eid
13th August (Tuesday): Take leave
14th August (Wednesday): Take leave
15th August (Thursday): Independence Day and Raksha Bandhan
16th August (Friday): Take Leave
17th August (Saturday): Parsi New Year or Saturday
18th August (Sunday)

Considerations:

  • Explore Ladakh
  • A road trip to Spiti
  • Exploring the pristine beaches of Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  • Discover the forts of Rajasthan
  • Or visit the vast Rann of Kutch in Gujarat

31st August (Saturday)
1st September (Sunday)
2nd September (Monday): Ganesh Chaturthi

Considerations:
The best mix of public holidays for any kind of weekend trips under 200 kms from your city.

7th September (Saturday)
8th September (Sunday)
9th September (Monday): Take leave
10th September (Tuesday): Muharram
11th September (Wednesday): Onam (leave only in Kerala)

Considerations:

  • Visit Nainital for its lakes
  • Explore untouched Meghalaya
  • Party in Goa
  • Go for camping in Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
  • Or discover the inland waterways in Kerala

Long weekends in October 2019

5th October (Saturday)
6th October (Sunday)
7th October (Monday): Take leave
8th October (Tuesday): Leave for Durga Puja and Dushehra

Considerations:

  • River rafting in Rishikesh
  • Dusshehra festival in Himachal
  • Explore Kolkata during Durga Festival
  • Visit Mysore for Dushehra

26th October (Saturday)
27th October (Sunday)
28th October (Monday): Leave for Diwali
29th October (Leave for Bhai Dooj

Considerations:

  • Visit Taj Mahal in Agra
  • Diwali in Varanasi
  • Go to Gokarna

Long Weekends in November 2019

9th November (Saturday)
10th November (Sunday): Eid e Malid
11th November (Monday): Take leave
12th November (Tuesday): Guru Nanak Jayanti

Considerations:

  • Visit Goa for its nightlife
  • Go to Pushkar for its Camel Fair
  • Trekki0ng in Himachal or Uttarakhand

So here was my list of some of the long and extended public holiday for 2019 in India.

If we compare this extended weekends list with 2018 and 2017, he coming year doesn’t seem to have lots of long weekends.
So would suggest you to note down the places you want to visit in this coming year and plan accordingly.

However, if you are looking for a complete list of Public holidays, you may check out this below table:

[table id=1 /]

Liked this article? Share it with your friends

Cheers
The Poor Nomad
(Your Travel Guide)